The Penderwicks at Point Mouette by Jeanne Birdsall

I thought I was not going to like it. After all it’s a THIRD in a series– often a disappointment. I thought I wanted more action. I thought it would be too sweet. I was wrong. I loved it. There is honest emotion and yes, it was sweet, but not saccharin. It was another winner from Jeanne Birdsall. Her third book about the Penderwicks is her #1.

The younger girls go off to Maine for a vacation with Aunt Claire while their parents and baby Ben travel to England and Rosalind goes to the Jersey shore with a friend. When their aunt sprains her ankle, the fun begins. Skye must perform the OAP (Oldest Available Penderwick) duties worrying every step of the way. Skye leaves Rosalind’s directions at home so she must fumble along on her own. Their old friend Jeffrey accompanies them to Point Mouette where they meet interesting next door neighbors, a girl Batty’s age who crashes her bicycle at every turn, and her skate board crazed brother Dominic who manages to attract Jane and pull her from her novel-writing. The ending is a satisfying treat that I cannot even begin to hint at. This is a wonderful summer read. I’m sorry I picked it up so late. But it’s worth reading even if you discover the book in September. It will just make you long for summer again!

Leave a comment